Happy Father’s Day!

20130620-230932.jpg

Ok, I know it is way past Father’s Day, but I have been super busy with my new internship that I haven’t been writing blog posts–but I always remember to take pictures of my food. For Father’s Day I made my daddy his favorite breakfast, eggs Benedict, and his favorite dessert, Boston cream pie

Making the eggs Benedict was the first time I had every poached eggs–it was easier than I had expected. Of course I had my mum there watching me and telling me what to do but still, I gave myself a mental pat on the back. I also found a tip online to put a splash of vinegar in the water to keep the egg whites together. I basically taught my mum how how suck (poach?) eggs.

My recipe: Eggs Benedict

20130620-230932.jpgServes: 3

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup low-fat plain yogurt, plain
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 pinch fresh ground pepper

What to do:

  • Make the Hollandaise sauce first. Mix the yogurt, lemon juice, and egg yolks in a saucepan over very low heat (if you have a gas stove) until it thickens, about 15 mins. Take off the heat and add the salt, mustard, and pepper. Set aside to thicken some more.
  • Boil 4-6 in of water in a large saucepan. Add a splash of white vinegar. Carefully crack the eggs in to the water one at a time, trying to slide them in close to the surface–don’t let them drop in violently. Cook them 3-6 mins depending on how runny you like your yolk.
  • While those are cooking, toast your muffins and fry yo’ bacon.
  • Layer muffin then bacon then egg then a generous drizzle of Hollandaise then a basil garnish on top.

* Confession: We did not use this recipe, our Hollandaise was loaded with butter. But it sounds like a good idea! Also, we didn’t wait for it to thicken I don’t think. Did we put in mustard? I have no idea. We make this every year for my dad so we just do whatever the hell we want.

The fresh basil garnish was Mum’s idea, she and my dad are starting to get almost as into my food blogging as I am…

M20130620-230942.jpgy recipe: Boston Cream Pie

Serves: 1 (my dad) he wishes 8-10

So I don’t actually have a recipe for this, my mum made most of it. My only job was the custard and I fucked it up (see photo). Who knew the cornstarch would make sediment on the bottom when it got warm? Mum’s rubber scraper to the rescue.

So here is a delicious-looking recipe from a fellow blogger.

Michelle’s recipe: Boston Cream Pie

My parents had a hockey game in the evening and I was driving up to the city to spend the night so we brought the cake to the pre-game/Father’s Day dinner with some teammates. Funny story, we wanted to go to the Lobster Shack but the wait was ridiculous so we went to the In ‘N Out across the parking lot instead and had the classiest of Father’s Day meals there, then brought out and served the cake on napkins. Only the best for my daddy.

Leave a Reply

