What omelet? Check out my farm.

IMG_2125

Every day I spend at my house in Palo Alto reminds me how lucky I am to live in and come from such a kickass area. My farm kicks all the other farms’ asses (except maybe the real ones). I appreciate it even more when I wake up in my bed after a long week of interning in San Francisco and overnight babysitting jobs.

She's judging me with her eyes

She’s judging me with her eyes

Speaking of my internship… it’s the tits. I am working for the non-profit organization One World Children’s Fund as a Communications and Marketing Intern for the summer. Basically, I am cleaning up the website and using social media to increase awareness of our organization and improve communication with our existing partners. The last 2 days I made a video/photo slideshow of the children we help in Africa, India, and the Americas to be shown at the big luncheon event in October. I was that white girl sitting at Philz Coffee looking at lots of pictures of disadvantaged children on her Macbook. I swear its for my job.

My boss, Allie, may have hired me to help her but I feel that I am getting the most out of this relationship. I am learning and growing up so quickly experiencing my first real job, life in San Francisco, and what real responsibility feels like. My “jobs” at Wildberry Yogurt when I was 16 and the front desk of my dorm at USC last semester were absolute jokes. I am typing this from my cousin’s apartment on Haight St after a long day working at the office in the Presidio and doing Bikram yoga at a studio in Sea Cliff that I basically belong to now–this is real life.

View from the office

Ok back to food.

This was one such morning when I woke up all refreshed in my own bed with an entire day of nothing to do stretching ahead of me. Only a few weeks ago I was literally crying with boredom at the idea of having entire days to myself but now I relish in it. I love being busy because I love relaxing even more. I don’t like staying relaxed, though. I like relaxing.

IMG_2126

So I relaxed with my egg whites and my farm. It was a morning well spent.

My recipe: Egg White Omelet with Chicken, Spinach, and Cheese

IMG_2123Serves: 1

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 2 tbsp grapeseed oil
  • 1/4 cup cooked chicken
  • 1 cup fresh spinach
  • 1/4 cup shredded Mexican cheese blend
  • pinches of salt and pepper

What to do:

  1. Heat 1 tbsp oil in a small skillet over medium heat. Add the spinach and chicken and cook until the spinach just shrivels up.
  2. While that’s reducing, heat the other tbsp of oil in a large skillet over low heat. Pour in the egg whites and tilt the skillet around to spread the egg evenly to the edges like a pancake. Cook until its almost opaque.
  3. Add the cheese, spinach, and chicken on top. Fold 2 edges over each other like a letter and take off the heat. Sprinkle some salt and pepper on top.

IMG_2124

A stroke of genius sent me out front to consume my hand-cooked breakfast on the front patio. Socks came out to join me and tried to get up on to the table to eat my food, I think she smelled the chicken. I spent probably almost an hour out there just eating slowly and gazing at the scenery…

IMG_2128

Just check out those beautiful flower pots

…and absentmindedly checking my email and seeing about a dozen emails from my boss asking me to do stuff and sending me files and tips and ccing other people who can answer my questions and… idyllic farmland scene shattered. At least now I know what I will be doing to fill my time at home this weekend! And then its back up to the city for the working week.

Leave a Reply

