Summer Savory Chicken Quiche

IMG_2016

My grandparents were staying with us this week and after my parents had bragged to them about how I had been cooking dinners all summer, I had to follow up with something really great. Homemade quiche has never been served in my house but I recently discovered that I love it so I decided to be adventurous. I got inspired by this post by Veggiestyle With Daphne. The egg filling part of the dish turned out really great, but the crust was disappointing–dry and tasteless and crumbly. I used whole-wheat all purpose flour instead of spelt, is that where I went wrong? Anyway, I learned that pie crust usually contains lots of butter–I am now on the hunt for the perfect balance between a tasty and healthy pie crust.

My creative license:

  • no spelt flour –> used whole-wheat all purpose
  • not enough spinach –> added basil
  • only had 1 tomato
  • omitted the onions and thyme
  • added chicken
  • love eggs –> added an extra egg

My recipe: Summer Savory Chicken Quiche:

Serves 5

IMG_2012Filling Ingredients:

  • 3 cups fresh spinach
  • 1 cup basil
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 chicken breast
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 eggs
  • pinches of salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Crust Ingredients: (I’m going to put down Daphne’s, I do not recommend my version)

  • IMG_20132 cups whole grain spelt flour
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1 tbs honey
  • 1 tsp salt

What to do:

  1. Preheat oven to 390.
  2. Heat a large pan with 1 tbsp olive oil, then cook the whole chicken breast until it is just no longer translucent on the sides. Keep it a little undercooked. Remove it from the pan.
  3. In the same pan, add the minced garlic. Add the spinach 1 cup at a time, letting it cook down and get small each time before adding the next. Add the basil and reduce that too. Turn off the heat.
  4. Combine all the crust ingredients (flour, olive oil, honey, salt) in a food processor, pulsing until a crumbly dough forms.
  5. Line a 24 cm diameter pie tin with parchment paper or butter (I skipped this on accident and it was fine).
  6. Dump the crumbly dough in the tin and press it evenly to the bottom and sides with the back of a spoon.
  7. Cut the chicken and tomato into 1 in cubes. Put the greens in a layer on the dough then the chicken and tomatos on top.
  8. Whisk together the 4 eggs with the salt and pepper and pour it over everything.
  9. Cover the top with aluminum foil and bake for 30 mins. Uncover and bake for another 30 mins.

Et voila! A beautiful and healthy quiche. I asked Daphne how to fix my crust so it turns out magical and delicious like hers and she said

The crust is quite dry, mostly due to the fact that only a small amount of oil is used in it to avoid a recipe full of fat. If you want it less dry, add more oil, or switch the oil for butter. Adding an egg to the flour could help as well. I personally prefer whole grain spelt flour over wheat flour. I find the taste to be more delicate, but that’s totally personal of course. If you don’t mind letting some of the green, clean aspects of the recipe go, then go for a fatter crust or buy instant crust pie dough in the store.

I gotta keep the “green, clean aspects” so I will try more olive oil and an egg next time. Maybe a little brown sugar too!

Leave a Reply

