Pumpkin Vermicelli in Tortilla Bowl

IMG_1998

My family went out to dinner at Madame Tam Bistro in downtown Palo Alto last night and had scrumptious Vietnamese fusion. I ordered the shrimp vermicelli bowl, my mum got the pumpkin curry, and we shared the two dishes together. Even though I hadn’t eaten all day, I couldn’t finish the giant bowl of noodles so we poured the remaining pumpkin curry sauce over them and took them home.

For lunch today, I put the leftovers plus some extra goodies in a practice tortilla bowl (I’m making a tortilla bowl Mexican buffet for dinner for our family friends tomorrow) and ate it sitting on the kitchen floor with my cat, Socks. I think she liked the smell of the chicken.

The bowl had a smaller capacity than I had anticipated, I would recommend using the largest tortilla you can find!

My Recipe: Pumpkin Vermicelli in Tortilla Bowl

Servings: 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 tortilla (any size, any kind)
  • LEFTOVERS! 1 serving vermicelli with pumpkin sauce
  • 1/3 avocado
  • 1/2 cup sliced chicken (omit for veg)
  • a few spoonfulls frozen peas

IMG_1997

What to do:

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Lightly spray an oven-safe bowl with oil and place the tortilla inside, folding in some corners so that it fits inside the bowl.
  3. Bake the tortilla for 15-20 mins, until lightly browned on the edges and crispy on the bottom. Remove it from the bowl and let cool.
  4. Microwave the leftovers. Dice the avocado and chicken.
  5. Put the leftovers, avocado, chicken, and peas in the crispy tortilla bowl.
  6. Enjoy!

IMG_2001

Leave a Reply

