Sriracha Thai-ish Chicken Quinoa

I made WAY too much quinoa the night before during my sweet potato burger adventure (measured out 1 cup quinoa UNcooked and then cooked it, realizing only after that they are NOT equal) so I had to come up with another quinoa recipe to use it up.

Ta da! Thai Chicken Quinoa from a fellow wordpress user (holla!) Milk & Cereal.

She makes it look so beautiful

I made a lot of adjustments to this recipe so bear with me. I only bought chicken and improvised everything else with what I had in the kitchen

  • no sweet and sour sauce –> Sriracha sauce
  • no rice vinegar –> balsamic
  • no almond milk –> soy
  • no veggies required –> chopped green beans
  • already cooked quinoa (using water) –> whatever supposed blandness existed was overpowered by the Sriracha

IMG_1972

My recipe: Sriracha Thai-ish Chicken Quinoa

serves 3

Sauce:

  • a little less than 1/4 c. Sriracha sauce
  • 2 Tbs. balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 c. soy milk
  • 1 Tbs. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. organic peanut butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • squirt of lime juice

The rest:

  • 2 c. COOKED quinoa
  • 1 tbs vegetable oil (I used grapeseed)
  • 1 lb. chicken breast, cut into 1 in cubes
  • 2 handfulls green beans
  • 1/2 c. peanuts, chopped
  • Salt and pepper

What to do:

  1. Create the sauce first: Sriracha + balsamic vinegar + soy milk + brown sugar + peanut butter + lime juice + ginger. Whisk together in a small bowl.
  2. Chop the green beans (or don’t, if that’s how you roll) and stick them in the microwave for 2 mins to cook.
  3. Heat up a deep, medium-sized saucepan on medium heat with the oil. Stir fry the chicken cubes until golden brown on the outside. Turn off the heat.
  4. Dump the quinoa + sauce + beans + peanuts right into the pan on top of the chicken and stir it all together
  5. Add some salt and pepper.

IMG_1971My favorite part was chopping the peanuts, it was somehow so satisfying. Too bad my mum sniffed them after I’d put them in and declared them rancid. The expiration date on the jar was 2010. I thought they tasted fine anyway, even if they did smell a little funny.

Be warned: this dish is HOT. I put in a bit less than 1/4 cup of Sriracha and then had to add more milk to the sauce after I tasted it because I couldn’t stand it. Fortunately, my parents like spicy food as much as I do.

They also love being cooked for! This is truly a symbiotic relationship: I love cooking up interesting and healthy meals and they love eating them. Plus, they insist on doing the dishes for me. Awesome.

3 thoughts on “Sriracha Thai-ish Chicken Quinoa

Leave a Reply

